Portugal 2012: Kodak Portra 160, Roll #1

"Distances" - Lisbon, Portugal

Finally, I am getting through some scanning of the photos that I took on Portugal. I have gotten back all of the film that I dropped off for processing when I returned home, and have scanned about half of the rolls so far. Like I said before, it is incredibly time consuming, and after sitting in front of a computer screen all day long, the last thing I want to do at night sometimes is scan photos. Still, I’m slogging my way through them.

The other posts I have put up from our trip to Portugal were all digital–I posted the book that I made through Blurb, and a few other shots I had taken–and so this is the first batch of film shots to hit the blog. I hope you all like them! Please do leave feedback below in the comments, it really does mean a lot to hear from all the people who visit each and every day.

I took my Leica M6TTL 0.85 along to Portugal (in addition to my Fuji X100) and am very pleased with the results. I have grown to really love that M6–to the point that I am selling my M3 due to lack of use!–and it didn’t disappoint on the trip through Lisbon and Porto. Today’s shots are all from a single roll of film (Kodak Portra 160, which is lovely) and all are taken with the M6, coupled with the Voigtlander Nokton 40/1.4 SC lens, which is also quite nice. I happen to love the 40mm focal length, as I find 35 is often just a tick too wide, and while I have long loved the 50mm focal length, I find that all my time with the Fuji X100 has accustomed me to something a bit wider. I would be happy to write up a post about my experiences using any of my gear, if anyone is interested. If you would like to hear my thoughts on the Leica M6, the Leica M3, the Nokton 40/1.4, or anything else, please let me know!

Have a great weekend!

-Trevor

6 Comments

  1. About time we get some more from Portugal. My favorite of this batch has to be “Urban”. I like the angle and depth.

    Reply

  2. Nice capture on “Extrovert”; I also like “Distances” and “De-vice”. The colors in the pictures pop out contrasted with the muted backgrounds. Nice to see pictures from Portugal!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

