Looking Back

June 2012 – Saint Paul, MN

There are times when I look at pictures of my son and I really can’t believe how fast he has grown up.  There are times when I am speechless at how big he has gotten.  It’s crazy to think that it is not even close to being over either; he will grow into a man someday and I’ll think that he looks young in photographs like the one above.

It was almost 3 years ago now that I made this photograph of him in Michigan:

March 2012 – East Lansing, MI

It’s amazing how time flies.  Sometimes I can’t believe how much I have aged myself when I catch my own reflection in the mirror, but with your kids its different.  They grow and grow and change so much right in front of you.  Times like this I’m incredibly thankful that I have taken so many photographs of him.

If I go back a further two years to 2008, I come up with this photograph:

September 2008 – Saint Paul, MN

My, how he has changed.  He has grown up a lot, and it seems like all the time I learn something about him, as he learns about himself.  His interests change all the time and he is so grown up that I forget sometimes that he is only 7 years old.

And then, the attitude starts :)  What a kid.

July 2012 – Saint Paul, MN

Every calendar year, I make a book of photographs that encompass that year in the life of my son.  I have them all on my bookshelf and they are some of my most prized possessions–despite the fact that I can tell how far my photography has come over the past few years and I cringe at some of the photographs I chose for older books–that I own.

I encourage everyone to print photographs, especially the ones that are invaluable, like those of your family.  You wouldn’t want them to be lost on a hard drive somewhere years from now.

-Trevor

4 thoughts on “Looking Back

Leave a Reply

