Summer in the Cities

“Bus” – Saint Paul, MN

I figured I would share some of the stuff I have been shooting over the summer in the Twin Cities (Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota, for those not familiar with us, or from overseas). I have been shooting a lot of film this year as I continue my film project that I started in January, and I have been really enjoying it. There is something really satisfying about making an image and then having to wait a while to get it back and see it–it lets me focus more on making images, and less on reviewing (chimping) the ones I just recorded digitally. But, to each his own.

I am still getting the hang of shooting in the Twin Cities. Shooting street photography/documentary photography seems easier when you do it abroad. I think this is due to several factors. First, there are more people, just in general and in the streets, other places (London, for example, which I visit each year). This means that people notice me less when I am shooting, and I am able to get closer to people without them thinking I’m weird or getting freaked out by me and my camera.

“Crosswalk” – Saint Paul, MN

Secondly, there is an issue of space. In Europe, space is at much more of a premium than it is in the USA, as a general rule. Sure, places like New York City have that same feeling as London, but even the smaller places outside of major metropolitan areas–like Norwich, Oxford, or Wigan, for example–have different ideas of space than we do here in the States. This is especially so in the Midwest, where I live.

Anyway, there will be more to come in the days ahead as I continue to go through my photos from the summer. I just finished my latest book of my year-long project on the Saint Paul Cathedral, and can’t wait for the book to arrive in the mail. I’ll let you all know when it comes!

“Traffic” – Saint Paul, MN

I also have to thank everyone for continuing to visit the blog. Yesterday I passed 50,000 visitors all-time, and have now over 1,200 followers! I’m humbled and appreciate your continued visits and help in making this blog a (relative) success.

Let me know what you think in the comments below, and if you like my work, please let others know about the blog so they can check it out. As always, if you like what you see here, check out my website as well.

-Trevor

4 thoughts on “Summer in the Cities

  1. Love “Crosswalk”–it’s very Midway (even though it was taken on Grand and Snelling. Love the whole scene–run down drycleaners and our neighborhood hot dog vendor in the background as well as the two characters starring in this shot!

Leave a Reply

