Summer in the Cities: Public Parks

“Leak” – Minneapolis, MN

I’m not sure how I managed to get a light leak in some of the shots today; obviously, two of them are from the same roll. I don’t remember opening the camera before winding the film or anything, but it’s a random roll sandwiched in between many others that have come out fine with my relatively recently-acquired Leica MP. Oh well. As Forrest Gump said: “shit happens”.

I spoke about the heat wave that has kept the Midwest in its grip most of the year on my last post. I won’t belabor the point here, but it was hot this summer. Honestly, I’m happy it’s fall now, and winter doesn’t sound all that bad. Then again, it never sounds that bad in October; we’ll reassess how I feel in January, eh?

“Lake Nokomis” – Minneapolis, MN

How nice it is to have public parks, lakes, and green spaces in the city. I’m definitely a city boy, but even we city people enjoy green. There are a few great places in the Twin Cities to go, but one that I recently discovered is Lake Nokomis (anyone from Minneapolis will know about it, but I have been more of a Saint Paul guy myself, until recently). All of today’s shots are from that lake, and the surrounding park. Luckily, I live in what has been dubbed “The Land of 10,000 Lakes” (no, I’m not sure if that’s an accurate count or not but there are a lot of lakes) and we have plenty of places to fish, swim, boat, etc.

“Shade” – Minneapolis, MN

Are there any local readers who could recommend some other great places? What are some of your favorite parks or lakes to relax at in the summer, or even the winter (we do a lot of ice-fishing up here on our lakes)? Feel free to share in the comments below!

If you like my work, please do take a visit over to my website and see more of it. I reserve the website for my more “serious” work, as a sort of digital portfolio; this blog is a bit more fun, and I post more things that are not my best work, but just things that I like.

Cheers,

Trevor

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

