2013 in review

Well, 2013 has come to an end. I want to thank the more than 32,000 people who came to visit my blog this year. In the two years I have been doing this, over 99,000 people have visited, and almost 4,200 have chosen to follow the blog and be notified of updates and new posts as I push them out. I am stunned at the seeming popularity of the blog, and never dreamed that the hobby of one guy in Saint Paul, Minnesota would attract so much attention on the Internet. Thank you, and I hope to see you all again going forward.

Baltimore Aquarium – Baltimore, MD

Here’s an excerpt of the year-end report from WordPress.com:

The concert hall at the Sydney Opera House holds 2,700 people. This blog was viewed about 32,000 times in 2013. If it were a concert at Sydney Opera House, it would take about 12 sold-out performances for that many people to see it.

Click here to see the complete report.

In terms of blogging, it was somewhat down from 2012, but that was mostly down to the fact that I was on the road for the first 1/3 of the year and didn’t post much during that time. I shot more film, meaning also that there was more time between making photographs and being able to post them on the Internet for all to gawk at.┬áIn terms of my personal life, thing have settled quite a bit. That is a good thing, though there is less time for shooting these days. In part this is due to shorter hours of daylight during the winter, but it’s also down to the fact that I have been working a lot of hours at the job I started this past summer.

In 2014 I have some changes coming, which I will write up and post sometime tomorrow. One of which is clear to me now: I will be shooting only film for the foreseeable future. I have become disillusioned with the ease and meaninglessness of digital images. This is a personal thing, and I recognize the utility of digital imaging; for me, owing to the fact that photography is nothing more than a hobby, I have decided to make images on film as I enjoy that process more. Other changes are coming as well, but that is the big one.

Thanks everyone for a great year, and I look forward to 2014. Below are some images that I took this year that are some of my favorite. I hope you enjoy them as well.

Size – Washington, DC

Days Gone By – London, England

Sheet Music – Houston, TX

Sitting, Waiting, Wishing – New York City, NY

Spring Love – Annapolis, MD

Road – Montana

The Forest for the Trees – Yellowstone NP, Wyoming

Birds – London, England

Swimming – Pipestone, MN

First Snow – Saint Paul, MN

Tourism – Mount Rushmore, SD

Aperture – Cleveland, OH

Untitled – New York City, NY

End of the Night – Saint Paul, MN

Max – Pipestone, MN

And with that, I bid you, and 2013, adieu. I hope to see you all return for more in the coming 12 months.

-Trevor

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

