Long Layoff

Lines – February 2014

So, it’s been a while since I’ve posted–it’s been a long time since I’ve even looked at WordPress. There are a lot of reasons why that is, ranging from work, to family, to winter light being hard to come by, but the biggest reason of all is that my inspiration for taking photos has waned. I still usually grab a camera when I go out places, but not always. Often, I’ll take it out with me and then not shoot anything. I don’t see any photos at the moment; nothing grabs me and demands a photo be taken.

Perhaps it’s a temporary thing, perhaps not. I wonder sometimes–worry, even–if my love and passion for photography has started to fade. I haven’t been looking at photos, I haven’t been shooting. I abandoned my film project for the year after a month. The motivation to carry on just wasn’t there. My motivation to shoot, to share…all of it. Perhaps other things have simply taken my time and attention momentarily. I’m not sure.

Empty – February 2014

My thoughts on photography have begun to shift. I’ve begun to ask more fundamental questions about the point of making photographs, the way I make them; about the process of photography, and about what role photography should and will play in my life going forward. I don’t have many answers at this point, only questions. Some recent influences have caused me to question a lot of this, and it’s probably good to have more questions than answers–but it’s not always easy. Perhaps that will be the focus of upcoming blog posts. Then again, maybe it’s best to figure it out on my own and come back when I’ve got a direction?

I’m fully aware that today’s post is a mess. The photos have no focus, and I was tempted to not even blog at all today, but thought that I should post something from the past few months. I’m not even sure who wants to read the narcissistic, self-indulgent, woe-is-me ramblings from some guy who takes snapshots of his daily life. Regardless, I’ve put together a few shots of my recent collection. I’m hoping the warm weather will finally re-introduce my will to go shoot; coupled with more hours of daylight, that usually does the trick. Winter up here gets to be really long, and by the end I’m worn out.

To all who keep visiting: thanks. I’ll try to get things up and running more frequently again.

-Trevor

Megan – February 2014

Franklin Freeze – February 2014

Lines – February 2014

Winter – February 2014

20 thoughts on “Long Layoff

  1. Oh Trevor, I’m having exactly the same problem! Lack of time and bad weather, but also some “fear” of shooting in the streets and lack of curiosity and attention, which leads to few and bad pictures.. I guess we should shoot more for ourselves, ask less questions, and hopefully this syndrome will pass!

    Cheers from Portugal ;)

  2. Been there, experience that…
    I think no one who likes and practices photography has escaped some kind of inspirational emptiness in some point.
    Relax. The less you worry, the sooner you will be back on your own two creative feet. And there is nothing wrong with a “sabbatical” absence either …

  3. Hey Trevor,

    Sorry to hear you’re in a rut, mate!

    I understand some of what you’re feeling: Lately I’ve kind of “withdrawn” myself…stopped commenting on other people’s work, stopped frequenting other blogs, etc, etc…Anyway, your post (finally! ;) ) came up in my reader, and I felt I just had to comment.

    Here are my (likely worthless…) insights:

    – You are not alone in your sentiments.
    – The feeling will pass.
    – Don’t give up. You clearly have “the eye”.
    – The key to breaking out (forgive me; in my humble opinion…) is to shoot ONLY for YOU.

    I have given up on “the big comment chase”. When you’re ready, shoot what you want. Shoot what you love. Shoot what makes you smile. Experiment. Try something pointless. But do it for you, and for the loved ones around you. Forget about me, and the rest of this intarwebs. You’ll find your groove again.

    All the best,
    M.

    • Thanks a lot. I appreciate your kind words and support. Funny, as soon as you give up on comments and likes… You get more of them. Thanks again for taking the time to leave a comment.

  4. Thank you very much for this thoughtful, well – considered, well written essay. I am glad that you make no comparisons to any body else – we all have our own practice.

  5. Been there, I hope it passes like it did for me. As a photographer and a photography student personally I get great value and insite out of your work and blog. All the best whatever you do…
    You just need to get to get your mojo back :-)

  6. Sounds like it’s been a rough winter man. Spring will be there soon. In the mean time get some vitamin D, and keep shooting.

  7. Trevor, you’ve really captured many of my emotions in your post. Like you, and probably many, many other photographers, I find myself awaking some days and feeling completely despondent towards my photography (and photography in general), and have even come very close to selling all of my equipment and going on with my life. Sometimes I feel like it takes up too much of my time, and for what? Why does what I’m taking a picture of deserve so much of my time and ultimately what will come of it? I will most likely never become a professional photographer, nor do I really have that ambition. My life is headed in almost the complete opposite direction of photography (law) and sometimes I find myself upset because it brings me so much joy yet I have very little to justify the expense, time, and the distraction from everything else. And it does take a cumulative effort to maintain that “eye” towards things necessary to make and take images.

    YET, there is almost always something that brings me back and bolsters the joy and passion I feel towards photography. Its a roller coaster ride for me, especially when many people cannot relate to or even understand my hobby, let alone my passion behind it all. Hell, I can’t even understand it and that’s exactly the crux of the matter, I guess. But I remind myself how incredible it is to view an image you took in the past (or that someone else took) and the emotions that can be stirred from such an image. This is what, I think, keeps me married to photography. I am very hard on myself and want to improve, eliminate flaws and expand my skills constantly. But recently I’ve decided to simply document the people and my surroundings, the things I care for the most, with the forward vision in mind that these pictures will be absolutely priceless to me and my family in years to come. I like to imagine the image through a lens of the future, and this really helps to endow the picture with something special; something that I need in order to take what might otherwise be considered a “boring” photograph or a photograph that wouldn’t even exist otherwise. This is not to say I ignore “artistic” principles in those photographs, but more of something that keeps me shooting when otherwise I wouldn’t bother, allowing me also to not be so hard on myself.

    Your photographs are great and I enjoy looking through them. I switched to film precisely because I felt like digital was stealing my ambition and robbing me of the connection I felt to my photography. Keep shooting and don’t be too hard on yourself. Everyone finds themselves in a creative/existential rut and unfortunately my photography is a direct reflection of my mood/outlook, which I guess can be a good and bad thing at once, if only it didn’t fluctuate so often.

    Sorry for the long post…just wanted to give you some thoughts and hopefully some support from someone who can relate. I hope it was relevant. Good luck!

    • Wow…thanks. That was a long comment (probably the longest I’ve ever gotten!), but it was certainly nice to hear. I can connect with many things you said in your post, and I know just like you do that sometimes it’s hard to see the forest for the trees, and one’s interest ebbs and flows. I get that photography is emotional often, and that distancing one’s self emotionally from life and one’s surroundings isn’t always easy either.

      I appreciate your kind words.

  8. It’s definitely a struggle to balance work, family, and photography but sometimes you have to step back and just do it for you. I wouldn’t worry so much about the lack of focus, you will find it if you really want to. Keep doing what you’re doing because it works for you.

  9. Sometimes it just wanes. Just shoot what you love. It’s supposed to be a hobby, not a job. I haven’t been motivated to capture much myself lately. I still see things I want to compose, but I don’t have the energy or will to actually do it. It will come back. I’m sure of it.

      • I can’t say I really follow it, but I have it set up to alert me when you post something. I click on the postings that interest me. We’re going to England/Scotland/Wales in a couple of weeks, so I should get a chance to get some good dramatic foggy pics. I love traveling with the family. At first, it was hell, but we’ve developed a system that works for us, and we do OK now. I’ll be getting out of the AF soon, so we’re excited/apprehensive about that, but things are good.

      • Getting out soon? Wow, make the most of your time there before you separate then. Thanks for stopping by, and let me know when you have some new pictures. Where do you post them?

Leave a Reply

