May

Lake Superior – May 2014

Another month, and another post. Other commitments are keeping me from blogging as much as I used to; as I’ve said repeatedly, I haven’t been taking as many photos due to those same commitments. A recent arrival of a new digital camera has meant that I can more easily share images (yes, his was supposed to be the black and white film year, but that project had to be abandoned after reality hit. Maybe another time) and has found me shooting a bit more, but not a lot.

I’ve said before that I really have stopped caring about camera equipment. It’s true, really. I just don’t give a shit anymore what camera I’m using, or what anyone else is using. I try to find things that work for me and that’s all that I really care about any longer. The new camera I acquired is one I’ve long wanted (in theory); it’s a full-frame sensor onto which I can graft a variety of “legacy” (read: old, manual) lenses. This was recently realized as a no-longer-theoretical image-maker when Sony released the a7. So, after waiting a few months, I got one.

I added an adapter for use with my rangefinder lenses, and tried it out.

Posing – May 2014

Memorial Day weekend meant a trip up to the far norther corner of the state, to visit with family and enjoy the sunshine and warm weather. I took along the new camera, a few lenses, and my increasingly-trusty Ricoh GR to see what I would come up with. I have to say, the camera is impressive in use so far. It was a nice challenge to manually focus on the camera body, and totally different than what I’ve been used to.

Aside from the new camera, it was nice to spend time with my family. It was relatively relaxing and we got to have some quality time together. There is essentially no cell reception or Internet access, and we spent a lot of time outdoors, which was refreshing; it reminds me that we should do it more often.

Orange – May 2014

At the end of the day, I found myself gravitating to one of the lenses I brought far more than the others, and it was tricky to use at times. All told, the results were acceptable and I can’t wait to have more time with the family to just take photos, relax, and refresh.

Until next time,

-Trevor

Romance – May 2014

Harbor – May 2014

Phone – May 2014

15 thoughts on “May

Leave a Reply

