Film Project Update

Yes, my weekly roll of film has been continuing along, although my film cameras have recently been in for repairs and servicing. They are back now, and the project goes on! Here are a few shots…film has been shot, processed, and scanned while all this digital work goes on and on!

Leica M3 | Summicron 50 f/2 | Fuji Superia 400

 

I find film incredibly satisfying to shoot with. I find that I enjoy the process of shooting much more when I use film over digital. Fear not, loyal reader; this will not descend into a film-versus-digital debate. For me, there simply is no debate to have. If we were all interested in getting the best quality images, then we’d all shoot large format film. Instead, there have developed other formats that allow us to hit the sweet spot between portability and functionality on one side, and quality on the other. Enough of that tangent–for me, the process is more enjoyable when I don’t have the chance to chimp, and I very much enjoy the tactile nature of older cameras. I also enjoy the archival nature of film. When I have negatives in my hand, it just feels like I’ve really made something, instead of arranging a series of 1’s and 0’s to create a digital representation of reality. That’s just me.

That being said, I also recognize that film is increasingly a niche product since the advantages that digital imaging provides are what 99% of the people who make images want. The democratization of photography–and its pros and cons–is also another lengthy debate we could have, but won’t. I went through a period of about 2 years where I shot nothing but film. Eventually, the advantages of digital drew me back in and now I am at a place where they can both coexist in my world, harmoniously. So I will continue to shoot both, and likely that will be more digital than film, but for me film isn’t going anywhere.

Let me know what you think of the images that I have posted here. More film will continue to be interspersed, but I will also make regular “film-only” posts like this one for the project that I am doing to document my 30th year on this good planet with film (at least one roll per week).

 

7 Comments

Leave a Reply

