England 2011-12: British Museum

Fuji X100 | 1/60 @ f/2 | ISO 1250

 

Today’s series comes from the British Museum, which is a fantastic museum, but also a great place to observe people and shoot. I spent about 90 minutes in the evening one day just walking around the main floor making photographs and had quite a good time. As always, it was crowded, but I found that helpful in this instance. Too often shots of the British Museum come off as cliche or just plain tired; for the life of me I still can’t figure out why people go to the same place and try to recreate a shot they’ve seen a million times (in this instance the glass ceiling of the British Museum and the shadows it creates inside). People who consider themselves serious amateurs and hobbyists go to the British Museum and take that exact shot–if you search for it on flickr you will find thousands of iterations of just that–over and over, and I just don’t get it.

As always, I hope you enjoy the shots. Today’s post is a bit larger than most, but I did not want to split the British Museum into two separate posts. Let me know what you think down below, and do feel free to re-blog or use the various social media links at the bottom of the post. Thanks for stopping by!

-Trevor

 

15 Comments

  1. I really like these images, and their focus on solitude. Nicely composed b/w images prob my favourites, and the lead image above all, but the color images shine too. Nicely done.

    Reply

  2. Hey everyone! I’m looky1looky1 and this is one of my favourite blogs. I really like how the author takes pictures! If you have time, check out my awesome blog, A Photo A Day, OK? >.<

    Reply

Leave a Reply

