England 2011-12: Craven Cottage

"Hot Dog" - London, England

While in England this year, we saw a few football matches.  I have already posted images from our trip to Carrow Road to see Norwich City  FC v. Fulham FC, and now I thought I would show our trip to Craven Cottage to see Fulham FC take on Arsenal FC.  I have been to Craven Cottage a few times before, but this was the first time that I have seen an evening game, and the first time I’ve seen Arsenal live.  Good for us that we were treated to a very entertaining game, and I managed to get a few photographs in as well.

Unlike at Norwich, the stewards at Craven Cottage were far more lax about taking photographs inside the stadium.  I was allowed to roam freely with my camera and do as I please.  We arrived early enough that I also had plenty of time to soak in the pre-match atmosphere.  Craven Cottage is a great stadium, and Fulham are a great team to follow for a variety of reasons–the fans are great, the tickets are cheap (reasonably), and the team have been pretty successful lately.  If you’re looking for a match to see when you’re in London, or a team to support, I can recommend them highly!

Fulham went down by a goal, but managed to stay in the game.  They equalized, and then scored a winner deep into injury time to leave their London counterparts stunned.  Bobby Zamora scored the winner after coming on as a substitute.  Sadly, he was sold less than a month later, and now plies his trade at neighboring QPR.

If you like what you see, let me know, and please help others to find my blog and enjoy my work as well by using the buttons below or simply emailing the link!

-Trevor

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

