From the Archives: Florida 2008

"The Birds" - Anna Maria Island, 2008

 

Here is a post from the archives!  Shooting film definitely slows down the speed at which one can post on a blog, but I have literally thousands of images that have never seen the light of day! I have decided to open up the blog to shots from my archives…I hope you all aren’t just banking on new images!

Every summer, my extended family, on my mother’s side, goes to Anna Maria Island, on Florida’s Gulf Coast. They stay in the same resort, in the same rooms; they have been doing it since my great-grandparents started the tradition, a LONG time ago. When they started, it was a bit of a diamond in the rough, and my great-grandparents even owned property there for a while. Eventually, it was developed, and they sold their land and began staying at the White Sands Resort instead. A tradition was born.

It’s a small island, and it is pretty well populated in the summer months, when everyone has time off of school and/or work and goes for some fun on the beach. The beaches are crowded, and there are tourists all over.  Essentially, aside from a few folks living there, it seems to be dominated by resorts, hotels, and other tourist venues. That’s not to say there is anything wrong with that–it just is what it is.

In the summer of 2008, I was taking my final class of my undergraduate career: a film photography class. In fact, I delayed graduation from May to August so I could take it. I went to Anna Maria Island, Florida, armed with my trusty Nikon N80 and Holga film cameras. We had an assignment to use the Holga for the week that I was in Florida, so the bulk of the shots I took there were with on medium format film with the Holga. I used Ilford HP5+ 400 film, and processed it myself when I got back to Minneapolis.

6 Comments

  1. Hi Trevor,
    My name is Jane and I’m with Dwellable.
    I was looking for blog posts about Anna Maria Island to share on our site and I came across your post…If you’re open to it, shoot me an email at jane(at)dwellable(dot)com.
    Hope to hear from you 🙂
    Jane

    Reply

  2. These are so nice! Like Megan, I like how “old” the format makes these feel. Beautiful job.

    Reply

  3. Nice set. I love the feeling that the Holga pictures have–they feel so old, like they came out of a shoebox in someone’s attic. It is nice to see that even though your photography has progressed from 2008, you are still obsessed with “selfies.” 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

