From the Archives: Florida 2011, Part One

"Beach Scene" - Anna Maria Island, 2011

 

Here is another post from the archives, and another from Anna Maria Island, Florida. This time it is from last summer (2011), and all are digital images rather than film. As I said yesterday, this is the same location that my extended family visits each year, and the familiarity does force some different views on it each time I go. Visually, it is easy to be overwhelmed by the light and the colors–particularly in the evening as the sun goes down. But that is the low-hanging fruit, as it were, and is easy to make pretty breath-taking images with. The real difficulty comes in providing photographs that show something different. I haven’t gotten it yet, but I’m hoping that the next time I make the trip (this summer I cannot, for the first time in five years, due to a work conflict).

The week spent on Anna Maria Island in the summer of 2011 will be told in three parts, and I hope you enjoy it.

 

7 Comments

  1. Hey – can I get a copy of Beach Scene to post on my FB page? I’ll give you credit, of course, but I just love that photo.

    Reply

  2. I absolutely LOVE this set of photos! “Beach Scene” is fantastic – the sky looks unreal. Again, I’m struck by the fantastic way you make the sky a critical part of the whole rather than just a background. I also really like “Afternoon” and “Evening Detail.” Beautiful stuff.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

