From the Archives: Florida 2009, Part One

"Birds" - Anna Maria Island, FL

Another series from the archives is coming…and again it is from Anna Maria Island, Florida. If you are just joining the party, you should take a look at both the 2008 and 2011 (Part 1, Part 2, and Part 3) Florida retrospectives. The year is 2009, however, and this time the trip was documented on film. I took my Nikon SLR and my trusty Mamiya C220 TLR (Twin Lens Reflex), and a load of film. This was my first real experience with slide film, and I was instantly hooked. I haven’t looked back, honestly, and slide film is still what I prefer if given the option.

Going back to the same location every summer, with (for the most part) the same group of people, does have some benefits. The familiarity does allow some latitude for photographing the place, and the people. I can feel free to take risks with what I shoot, knowing that I will be back again the next year. It also lets me see things differently; once you’ve seen the same sunrise and sunset, year after year, you don’t shoot the same shots with (and I do mean with, and not of, the sunset) it. That doesn’t mean the sunsets become any less magnificent–in fact, they remain breath-taking most of the time–but you do see it differently.

I hope you like the series on Anna Maria Island, Florida, 2009. If you do, I’d love to hear it.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

