Analog Cathedral

"Wonder" - St Paul, MN

Here is a set of images taken inside the Saint Paul Cathedral in St Paul, Minnesota. Long-time followers of the blog will recognize the venue, as I have made it an ongoing project of mine to photograph the cathedral, both inside and out. I don’t know what draws me to it, but I continue to go back and enjoy shooting the cathedral. Each visit seems to bring something fresh.

This was shot on Ilford HP5+, which is an ISO 400 film; I pushed it to 1600 (that is, +2 stops), knowing that one can process film to push it to a higher ISO later. When I got the film back, I was informed that they do not have the capability to push film. I am using a new lab for film processing, and am learning what they do as I go. The lab went ahead and processed my film all the same–at ISO 400–and I was concerned that it would be ruined. It is definitely a harsher grain than I would like, but the results are not unusable. That Ilford film is pretty resilient!

I hope you like today’s post–it is longer than usual!

PS–the main shot above was featured on the Utata.org website front page!

15 Comments

  1. Awesome shots & gorgeous tones! I especially love the “Candle Detail” image, the one of the boy & the next to last one. Great job!

    Reply

  2. Your featured image truly is a “Wonder”, beautiful shot indeed……maybe you’ll be tempted to process some of the B&W films yourself? Cheers, Jason

    Reply

    1. Yeah, I am getting ready to develop at home. I just need to wait until the semester is over. Can’t take the time at the minute!

      On another note, thanks for dropping by. It’s not often you leave a comment, but it is appreciated very much.

      Reply

    1. Thank you! It’s tough to catch kids in a moment of stillness and wonder, but no adult ever has that same sense of wonder or amazement in their eyes. Adults are cynical and have been trained to be critical; kids are still discovering how amazing the world around them is.

      Reply

  3. The grain, though noticeable, isn’t too bad. It kinda fits the mood of the cathedral. I’m still digging your blog, keep up the good work.

    Reply

    1. Thanks. I’m pretty impressed with the way the grain handled 1600 ISO without being pushed in the developing. Also, I’m glad you’re enjoying the blog!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

