Medium Format

"Flower" - St Paul, MN

 

Today is post #100 on the blog. Wow, I definitely didn’t think this would happen so fast, and the responses I have gotten have been overwhelming. I just passed 35,000 unique visitors yesterday, which is pretty amazing in my opinion. I guess that is, in some sense, the democratization of the Internet at work; there is no way I could get 35,000 people to look at my work had I hung it in some local gallery, or had a book made. So first off, I want to say thanks to all that have come to visit, taken the time to comment, and enjoyed my work enough to pass it on to others who might also enjoy my work. I really appreciate it.

Now, I know my posts are often disparate, and there can be times when there is little cohesion from day to day. Today is another one of those days. I thought I would post some shots that I have taken with my old Mamiya C220 TLR (twin lens reflex) camera. These photographs are all from my archives, but I think they fit together well as a set–I’d be curious to hear your thoughts, however. Shot with a variety of film, the photographs offer something unique while still holding together well. I enjoy shooting medium format, and just recently acquired a medium format SLR (single lens reflex) that I will be using a lot once I have some time–and good weather–to get out and shoot. For anyone looking to get into medium format film cheaply, I’d recommend the Mamiya line of TLRs. They are robust, offer some fantastic lenses, and best of all, can be had amazingly cheap.

I’d love to hear your thoughts down below!

-Trevor

14 Comments

  1. great work. i love square format work! haha. im expecting my first TLR (an old yashica… is it considered vintage yet?!) haha. cant wait. very nice work u’ve done here, i look forward to using mine..and ur future posts

    Reply

  2. congrats on 100 posts! i’ll be there shortly. really love this set, even though i usually am not a fan of nature-type photos. i would love to get a mamiya rz-67 one of these days when i have some extra cash lying around. the frames are just so clear and beautiful. i really love “light”—so still and beautiful. nice work, as always.

    Reply

  3. You 100th, my 1st. I just got back into photography after a lapse of too many years. I love your attention to shadow and light in several of these shots. Enjoy your work. I used to have a Konica (that should date me) but now a Canon T2i. Now I want to take a look at the Mamiya. See how susceptible I am?

    Reply

  4. Pretty cool post. All the shots look really sharp and the color is great. I really like sheet, looks almost too good.

    Reply

  5. Congrats on 100! Love “In Bloom” and “Sheets” composition-wise.. but also love the lighting and simplicity of “light”.. I’d love to get my hands on a mamiya one day.. before or after my travels who knows, we will see!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

