Portugal 2012: Kodak Portra 160, Roll #1

"Orange" - Lisbon, Portugal

Here is the second set of shots from the first roll of Kodak Portra 160. This is a lovely film with a basically non-existent grain and wonderful color reproduction, especially with skin tones. I have heard that you can push Portra quite well, though I didn’t try it on this trip, or at all yet for that matter. Again, all of these were taken with my lovely Leica M6TTL 0.85 and the Voigtlander 40mm f/1.4 SC lens. This is a lovely combination, and during this trip I really fell in love with the little Nokton. I took along my other Voigtlander lens–the Color-Skopar 21mm f/4–and my Leica Tele-Elmarit 90mm f/2.8, but would up using this far and away most often (which I knew I would ahead of time…it was just a matter of deciding to take the Summicron 50mm f/2 or the Nokton with me as my primary lens). The lens renders very well, with a very modern look; it has almost no distortion that I can tell from casually looking, though I didn’t resort to shooting brick walls to measure it scientifically.

The main shot above was from the local fruit vendor near our apartment in downtown Lisbon. I tried to take his photograph on multiple occasions, but he would always turn away when I tried to get him. This time he didn’t see me 🙂

Hope you all are having a great weekend. Any questions about Lisbon, Portugal, or anything else, please leave a comment below. If you like the shtos from Portugal, you should check out my book on Blurb. You can get in touch with me on twitter, or via email.

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

