Portugal 2012: Porto, Fuji Velvia 50

“Sao Bento” – Porto, Portugal

Today Leica announced their shiny, new M9-M. It’s a digital camera that shoots only in black and white. What seems like already an incredibly small niche–people wanting to shoot a rangefinder that is all manual, and only in monochrome, please–became even smaller when they announced the price tag. This camera, the Leica M9-M, will set you back a cool $9,000. Well, that is interesting, but…no thanks.

Here are a few shots from Portugal, during our time in Porto. I loved Porto, it’s a very nice city, with some great sights. It also has a really cool vibe that my wife and I really enjoyed. You can do most of it on foot, from the Atlantic Ocean to the wineries in Vila Nova de Gaia, across the river. It didn’t hurt that the weather there was sublime–sunshine, and light breeze. Never too hot. I would return to Porto in a New York minute!

All except one (“Street Walker”) of today’s shots were taken with Fuji Velvia 100 in my Leica M6 with my Voigtlander Color-Skopar 21mm f/4. It’s a dynamite little lens, that is really wide and renders things quite nicely. I have the external viewfinder for it, but you can basically set it to f/16 and everything will pretty much be in focus anyway. I used it extensively on the trip to Portugal. That one and the Voigtlander Nokton 40mm f/1.4 I have been going on about were used for 90% of my shots. The last little bit was with my Leica Tele-Elmarit 90mm f/2.8 (the smallest 90mm M-mount lens). They’re all great, really.

Who needs that $9,000 Leica M9-M? Not me. I forgot to mention the new super-duper Summicron 50mm f/2 APO which was also announced today with an entry price of just $7,200. Thanks, but I got my two Voigtlander lenses that went to Portugal for less than $800–and they were both brand new. Leica made some great film cameras (still do, actually), but I will pass on their digital offerings. Thanks, but I’ll stick with film.

Cheers,

-Trevor

8 Comments

  1. According to Ken Rockwell if you only shoot the M9 in ,, and apply this, and that and that, you get velvia results. I think that is very clever to pay 6000$ then have to do lots of fiddling to emulate velvia. Clever Leica M9 boys.

    BTW your shots are super, very photos4u.dk, my mentor, (who has also gone to M9, and now produces bland, lifeless, and dull but oh, so crisp and sharp shots!!

    Reply

  2. I like “Uphill” and “Street” today, I think they do a great job of showing the closeness of the of the streets and the atmosphere of porto. This film has some beautiful colors!

    Reply

  3. Love today’s post. A bit different than the last few from Portugal. I’m almost certain “Green” is my favorite, though “Street” is a too close to call second.

    Reply

    1. Thanks man…today’s is a bit different, but surprised that “Green” is your fave. It seems the most “street-ish” of the bunch.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

