Mom

“Circle of Love” – Minneapolis, MN

Today is a just a quick post–sometimes, you just have to show Mom a little love 🙂

Additionally, you will notice that at the top of the blog there is now a banner to advertise my latest book of black and white images from Portugal.  Some of them have been on the blog, but not all; please take the time to at least view the book from start to finish.  A lot of time and effort went into it, and I’d love to hear your feedback on the final product.  And if you really like it, you can buy one and support a fellow artist!

-Trevor

9 Comments

  1. You do have a beautiful Mom, both inside and out. I love that lady, and you too! I truly do enjoy seeing all your beautiful pictures.

    Reply

  2. BTW, Trevor, I respectfully disagree with your comment that people have to purchase and support the artist financially in order for their compliments and appreciation of the art to be meaningful. There have been many times in my life when I have truly enjoyed and appreciated someone’s talent, but have simply not had the means to make any purchase.

    Now that I am in a better place financially, I try to get out my wallet when I can. I’d encourage you to take seriously the appreciation that comes from people who love your work but simply can’t afford to pony up $50.

    Reply

    1. Perhaps my comment came off a bit harsh. I was trying to explain the costs that go into making a book, first and foremost; I was also talking about the fact that the Internet has made everyone reluctant to pay for anything.

      It wasn’t directed at the person making the comment–I hope no offense was taken–but was perhaps venting my frustration, which has been building for a while.

      Reply

  3. Thanks for your comments. I appreciate your feedback; sadly, there is more that goes into pricing a book than simply the cheapest thing one can pump out. I have bought books from others for more than I priced mine at! You have to understand that there is a ton of time, effort, money, and work that goes into creating the book.

    In Portugal I shot almost 40 rolls of film, which cost me an average of almost $9.00 per roll–and that’s just the processing cost. Additionally, equipment, film, travel, software, etc all cost money as well. I blog a lot of my photos here all the time, which consumes time and resources as well. Finally, as an artist you have to also be confident in your art and believe that it is worth something. I’m not a big operation, and I can’t compete on price; I have to believe that my talent and time are worth something. If you like an artist’s work, the best thing you can do for another artist is to support them by purchasing their art.

    People can say they like someone’s work until they’re blue in the face, but until they get out their wallet and support the artist making the art, it rings hollow. Don’t get me wrong, I appreciate everyone who stops by my blog and especially those who take the time to leave comments, but people have become to accustomed to the idea that everything on the Internet is free. It isn’t.

    So, thanks again for stopping by. Thanks for commenting. And thanks for taking the time to look at my book. Not everyone can afford to spend money on a photo book; not everyone likes my work enough to do so. Last but not least, I don’t get very much at all from the books I sell–most of it goes to Blurb simply for making the book (you’d be surprised how little I get, actually).

    Reply

      1. To be honest (and you can delete this or any part thereof- I won’t be offended) I loved the book and have hopes of doing my own one day. Without seeing the quality of the finished product it just seems a bit too expensive, though. I guess for the best reproduction you’ve got to spend the money. I would have loved to have purchased one but just can’t seem to part with $45 right now. I’m sorry. I think you’ve got a great eye and great talent. I enjoy your work.

Leave a Reply

