VIP Express

“VIP Express” – St. Paul, MN

 

Hopefully there will be more time to shoot, and upload soon.  I have been shooting a lot of film lately, which means there isn’t a ton of material for the blog to post on a daily basis, unless I’m pruning the archives.  Since I am not home, my scanner isn’t available to scan film, and the vast majority of my photo archives are on my computer at home, hundreds of miles away.

However, I am hoping to get some medium- and long-term projects going soon.  There are some that I have been chewing on for a while, and need to start; the ideas I have need to be fleshed out a bit, and I’m afraid that film is how I have been shooting lately, which means a delay in getting my shots to the masses.  My plan is to post regularly, but fewer shots each day–maybe only one each post–so that having fewer shots to post doesn’t seem as noticeable.

If you have ideas for projects, I’d love to hear them.  What are the strengths and weaknesses of the photographs you have seen on my blog, or in my books?  If you were advising me on a project, where would you push me to go?  Is it best to work within my strengths, or to take my work in a new direction, to further my skills and my artistic ability?  I am mostly interested in people, and their environments.  I would like to have a project (or several projects) documenting the local area I am living in now–the Twin Cities of Minneapolis-Saint Paul–which could ultimately be made into a gallery, and/or book.  I’d love some feedback from my loyal viewers.

-Trevor

2 Comments

  1. I’d highly recommend you stick to around one photo for each post, unless you’ve been gone for a while which might beckon a couple photos for it. But even for all of my favorite pros that keep blogs, most of them don’t do more than one photo even when posting once a week. One photo should be enough, as with blogs many people want to hear your words, no matter how short, because we can always peruse your flickr if we want to just endlessly look through your photos.

    Project-wise, the two you have listed right now (although I’m not sure if those are the only ones you are doing) are both quite open-ended. The film one is very broad, while the church one is really narrow and doesn’t involve much more than taking pictures of churches or church environments. I would say spend a couple of weeks really brainstorming for an idea you are most passionate about, something that speaks to you, because undoubtedly your passion will flow through your work and, hopefully, create the best images.

    Welp, that’s my two cents. Hope it helped.

    Reply

    1. Don’t sell yourself short! I always appreciate your input, and I am in the process of brainstorming now…if you think of anything else, let me know 🙂

      I also have the BATHROOM TREVOR project in addition to the cathedral and the more general 30th-year-film project.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

