What’s In My (Other) Bag

What’s In My (Other) Bag – November 2012

**Update: You can also find this post featured on Japan Camera Hunter.**

I did a post the other day about what I carry around in my bag (you can read that here if you missed it), and I thought I should also include my other bag. While my previous bag was focused around rangefinders (and rangefinder-style digital cameras like the Fuji X100), this one is a different format entirely. I also have other gear around which doesn’t get quite as much use, but I figure I should give a shout-out to all the same. But first, the contents of this bag in the photo above:

  1. Black Domke bag – I don’t honestly know what style it is, but it’s from the mid-1980s and they were throwing two of them away at work. Despite over 20 years of use by photojournalists traveling all over the world and using it hard, it looks great. So I took one off their hands. Domke bags are great.
  2. Hasselblad 501CM with Planar 80mm f/2.8 CFE T* lens – a great camera that I acquired earlier this year. I enjoy medium format, and the results from this camera always blow my mind. The lens is out of this world. This combo I got almost mint condition, with boxes, paperwork, and all original accessories, with the upgraded Acute Matte split screen (makes focusing easier), and manufactured in 2002. The original owner didn’t use it much; it’s lovely.
  3. Fuji Instax 210 – this is a fun camera that is absurdly large for the size print you get, but I like the results. It is incredibly light and easy to carry around, and if I’m already carrying a bag with the ‘Blad in it, this one doesn’t add any weight.
  4. Film – I love shooting Ektachrome E100G, but it is sadly now discontinued. This is my last box before I move on to Provia 100F for good, although that film is no slouch either. Portra 400 is as good in 120 as it is in 35mm; I also use Kodak’s 400TX, and Fuji’s Pro 400H–largely the same film stock I carry for 35mm use. I like consistency.
  5. Phone and wallet – these are the same as in the previous post, the ones I’ve had for quite some time.

I also have a boat-load of other gear around the house:

  • Nikon D700 that I use for work, sports, and gear shots,
  • Nikon N80 that I use my Nikon AF lenses with when I want to shoot film,
  • Pentax ME Super that I use now and again that belonged to my father,
  • Mamiya C220 that was my first medium format camera,
  • FED3 with a Jupiter 50mm f/2 lens that I picked up for a song with a recent CLA,
  • Holga that my wife uses sometimes that I acquired along the way, and
  • Olympus XA2 point-and-shoot that I got for a project I worked on over the summer and is now done, but I still use from time to time.

Excessive? Yes, but I enjoy using all of it occasionally.

Questions? Comments? Let’s hear them. I’d love to hear what you all are carrying around and using as well!

2 Comments

  1. Thanks for sharing your bags content… I surely would feel a bit lost if I had so much gear with me on the street! I have tree operational digital cameras and I only carry one at a time; a Canon Ixus 300hs, my adorable “spy camera” that is always with me except when I go out on a deliberate photo session. My “serious tool” is a Panasonic GF1 (14-45mm and 20mm lens). I have also an Olympus E-450 that I use mainly for macro and indoors shooting. I love them all…

    Reply

    1. Like I said, I don’t carry them all at once. That would be overwhelming!

      I generally carry one or two at a time when I go out shooting, and only one if I’m not out for the express purpose of making photographs.

      Thanks for stopping by, as always!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

