Max’s Florida Adventure

002_24A

Mimi

Here is a set of Max’s Florida adventure in 2008. As I have mentioned previously, my extended family generally meets on Anna Maria Island, Florida, for a week of vacation in July each year. I have posted my own shots from these trips in other posts, but going through my archives recently, I found some rolls of Max’s that I scanned from 2008. Here they are.

Papa

Papa

Little did I know that my son is quite the street photographer! He is definitely developing his own visual style, although things have changed since he took these over 4 years ago now.

I really love the grainy look that a lot of these have, coupled with the flash. It has a certain Martin Parr quality to it, like something out of his supermarket series maybe.

Mimi II

Mimi II

These were all taken with a small disposable film camera, on his own, at the age of 3.

Here’s to unbridled and uncorrupted creativity!

Open

Open

And here he is shooting the shooter. Gotta love it!

Yours Truly

Yours Truly

Honestly, I think that if I hadn’t told you these were taken by my son, you might not have known. They stand together as a set well, don’t they?

Honestly, after reviewing these two rolls taken that summer, and then a few other rolls that he has taken over the years, I really think I need to get him taking more photographs. I love these shots.

Palms

Palms

He has been shooting more of his little Fuji Instax Mini lately, which he really enjoys. Since I got mine out, he did the same; he really likes getting the shots back immediately, and at his age and experience level it is nice to get prompt feedback on what is and isn’t working.

He spent the day at my parents’ house for Thanksgiving sneaking around and trying to catch candid shots of everyone doing their thing…I think we may have a miniature Bruce Gilden on our hands.

Perhaps a future in street photography for my boy?

Beach

Beach

I hope you like today’s images, which are much more fun and carefree than the blog has been lately.

At the risk of sounding like a broken record, here is another reason to shoot film: it’s cheap. Get your kid some disposable cameras and let them go at it. They won’t break them or lose them, and if they do, you’re not out much money. Secondly, not getting instant feedback meant that for this group of images, the imperfections stayed around; had they been taken on digital he might have attempted to delete some and correct some of the shots.

I’d love to hear what you all think down below in the comments!

6 Comments

  1. I like the head crops. My two boys (five and three) always want to use my cameras…. as much as I want to encourage them the film costs me a bloody fortune if I’m not careful!

    Reply

  2. Oh my gosh, these are wonderful! Not sure which is my favorite, but also find it interesting that he chops the heads off. 😀

    Reply

    1. Thanks, man. It’s a small sample, and I need to edit it down more, but I think this set of images goes together well.

      Nice to have you stopping by!

      Reply

  3. Love this post! It’s interesting to see that he consistently cuts off the top halves of people’s heads. I think my favorite is “Mimi II,” but you are correct, they fit together very well as a set. It will be fun to put these together as a book for him when is an adult.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

