Angles

Leica M6TTL 0.58 | Summicron 50/2 | Ilford Delta 3200

Today’s shot is from my last trip to England. I really love the composition–it’s one of my favorite shots I took while over there this year. The converging lines, different angles, and slight tilt to the frame all contribute to a sense of something being not quite right. The hand on the left being cut off from the person also make the viewer seems slightly uneasy. The pigeon in the center of the frame, seemingly the subject, is doing nothing of interest, but is the key to the composition of the entire shot. The more I look at this, the more I like it.

I also have to say that I really like the look of this Ilford Delta 3200 (though I exposed it at 1600) a lot. It isn’t nearly as muddy an soft as some people said it would be, but part of that has to do with exposing it in decent light. Most of the time this fast film gets used in light so low that it makes the film look worse than it ought to…if that makes sense.

Just a quick post today, since blogging has been tough lately. I have been ridiculously busy with work, and living in a hotel room on my own has meant that I’ve spent a lot of time away from the computer, traveling around the East Coast area when I can. I’ve been to Washington, DC, twice now, and took a day trip to Gettysburg, PA, just this past weekend. I plan to get out to Baltimore, DC, and hopefully New York City, Philadelphia, and the Atlantic Coast. Additionally, I’m hoping to get to see some more Civil War battlefields as well–there are a lot in this area–since I enjoyed Gettysburg so much. I’m going to head out this weekend and see a few more if I can.

I’ve been in the DC-area now for a month almost. I didn’t bring any digital cameras along, and I don’t have the means to process or scan film while I’m here; that means that I won’t have any new shots to show until this summer. I’ll be back home at the end of May, so there won’t be anything new to show until June sometime. I know that seems a long way away, but I really prefer to let my work sit for a while before looking at it anyway. In fact, this enforced break might actually be good for me in the long run.

I’m not as obsessive about leaving film untouched after exposing it as Gerry Winogrand, who famously would let film sit for a year or more before processing it, and left hundreds of rolls behind after he died suddenly at an early age. I like to leave shots for a few months, as I have said before. It allows me to get a distance from my images so that I can more objectively view them.

5 Comments

Leave a Reply

