Out East: DC

“Circle” – Washington, DC

I have been to Washington, D.C. a few times now since I have been out East.  I have tried to get out as much as possible, but have been too busy to get out during the week much. Additionally, since I haven’t been shooting much digital, I don’t have any new pics to post on the blog. The combination of no new shots to share and not much time has meant that the blog has become a hub of inactivity. I wish I had more to blog about, but I’m not sure how I feel about blogging without photos. I have things to share–at least, I have been doing things–but I’m really not sure people want to read about what I’m up to. After all, this is a blog about photography, and my photos and thoughts on photography and cameras have pulled in the followers that I have.

With that said, I have been enjoying some fun, and the one weekend that I took my digital camera with me was to DC. I managed to get a few decent shots as I toured the sights. There are a lot of great things to see in DC, and I will be going back. There are so many things to do and explore there beyond the famous sights. Knowing people who live in the area helps, too.

“Monumental” – Washington, DC

Of the famous sights, the Washington Monument is the most disappointing to me so far. When you see it up close, it’s…just kind of dull. I can’t go inside of it because of the ongoing repairs due to the earthquake a few years ago, and that would be cool I’m sure. But it’s not much to look at. The Lincoln Memorial, on the other hand was impressive. The first thing you notice is how big it actually is. It’s always busy with people all over, inside and outside, but it’s huge. I mean, it towers over you as you stand in awe of him, seated, and the quotes on either side of him. With that said, I liked it. Though not usually my style, it’s nice.

However, size can go both ways. The WWII memorial is also gigantic, and occupies prime real estate, but it’s gregarious and ostentatious, and ugly. It looks like some kind of Soviet-modernist construction in many ways; square blocks and abstract art, on a large scale. Meant to wow you with size. Instead, it was a huge turn off. The Vietnam Memorial is classy, as has been well documented over the years. It’s incredibly humbling and haunting; it’s almost cliche to say at this point, but it’s true. Finally, the Korean War Memorial was…I don’t know. I wasn’t sure what to make of it, but it’s equal parts bizarre, haunting, and thought-provoking. I enjoyed it, for the most part, and it did make me think–maybe that’s the point.

"Memorials"  -  Washington, DC

“Memorials” – Washington, DC

Other memorials, like MLK and FDR, were nice. In fact, FDR was probably my favorite overall. It also nicely illustrates the way monuments and memorials have changed. From the focus on size to what memorials are today, which is a more immersive experience, meant to inspire thought and impress us in other ways. A very interesting way to look at the way we have changed over time, along with who we memorialize and how we do so.

I’ll try to blog more. Maybe I’ll do some more reviews or essays on photography. Don’t desert me, loyal followers!

“Spanish” – Washington, DC

When I get home I’ll have a ton of film to process and scan and share with you all. Beside DC, I’ve been to Gettysburg (PA), Antietam (MD), Harper’s Ferry (WV), Baltimore, Ocean City (MD), Redoboth Beach (DE), and a variety of state and national parks. I have trips to New York City, Richmond (VA), and Philadelphia planned in the coming weeks as well. I already have around 20-25 rolls of film in 120 and 35mm awaiting processing.

*DEAR READERS:

Any requests for topics you’d like me to cover? How-to’s, reviews, or anything else? Let me know!

2 Comments

  1. Great post. I feel the same way about the WWII memorial- ugh. But Lincoln is so stirring, although it isn’t so much about the massive Lincoln as it is about the words of the Gettysburg Address and the 2nd Inaugural.

    Love the Vietnam Memorial photo. Your perspective really captures the feeling that it is a quiet part of the surrounding landscape. Very, very nice.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

