NYC

NYC

I haven’t been blogging.

In my defense, I have been pretty busy lately. With my class eating up my days, I have been focusing on traveling as much as I can on the weekends. I also have been shooting almost all on film, and as I said before I came out to the East Coast, I won’t have it processed until I’m home in Minnesota again. So there are precious few photos to share as of yet, despite the fact that I’ve been super busy.

My wife flew out for a few days to visit, and we took a long weekend opportunity and headed to the Big Apple for a few days. This is the second time I’ve been to NYC since I’ve been out here, and at first it’s pretty overwhelming. I have spent a fair amount of time in London, grew up in Berlin, and have traveled to Tokyo, Rome, Chicago, Lisbon and more, so big cities are not foreign to me. Still, NYC is a totally different beast. It’s an immediate and sustained assault on the senses. I did really enjoy it though.

Shoelaces

We saw the Guggenheim and the Met, and visited the MoMA as well. The Highline was a really cool thing to see, as well as Chelsea Markets. We caught our second MLS soccer game (Red Bull New York v. New England Revolution), which we both really, really enjoyed. Central Park remains one of my favorite spots in the city, and Times Square remains something that has to be seen to be believed, especially at night; I have to also say that I don’t enjoy it very much. It is far too busy and crowded with people, regardless of the time of day.

I will be blogging more once I get my film back (I hope), but for now you’ll have to make do with a few shots I took with the trusty old Fuji X100. On that topic, I also stopped into the B&H Superstore whilst in NYC and handled the new Fuji X100S–and I’m sold. I’ll be picking one up fairly soon I think. It’s pricey, but it’s really what the X100 should have been all along. Even with all the flaws, the original X100 is near and dear to my heart. But the “S” is worth upgrading to I think. Aside from that, the B&H store is huge, but let me down a bit. Almost no used film gear to speak of, and one small shelf of film. I guess that’s just what it is.

NYC Self

I’ll try to recap some of the other trips I’ve taken in some blog posts, sooner rather than later. Thanks for continuing to stop by despite the dry spell that this blog has been under for a rather long time.

-Trevor

7 Comments

  1. I loved the buildings photo. After Berlin, where I lived for 6 months, NYC (where I live now) is my favorite city in the world. It is a different beast indeed though… Glad you enjoyed it

    Reply

  2. Film is better for photography because you only have a few chances to get the right shot, as opposed to 850 chances on a card. Film helps you become a better photographer!

    Reply

  3. Glad to see you made it out there!! It’s definitely a great city. I’ll be going out there sometime in May myself. Nice photos as always Trev. X100s seems to be a great camera.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

