NYC in B&W

I thought I’d post a few shots from New York City. I took two trips to NYC while I was out east, and these were all taken during the second trip, when I took my wife with me to see the city. We had a great time wandering through the streets, and I found a great place to take photographs!

I love that there is so much going on at all times of day and night, which allowed me to simply walk out my door with a camera in hand and take in all that the city had to offer. It is quite the sensory assault the first time you experience it. Having spent a lot of time living and traveling in large metropolitan areas, I am no stranger to the sights, sounds, and smells of a city of this size, but I have to say that NYC is a whole different beast.

Being on the ground in NYC gave us so much to see. I wish that the Twin Cities had more areas for pedestrians like this, and I really enjoy walking beneath the tall buildings. That cramped, big-city vibe is right up my alley. Visually, NYC is like a smorgasbord for those who are photographically inclined.

We spent most of our time in Midtown Manhattan, and both really liked it. I would love to go back at some point and spend my time there doing nothing but making photographs! I don’t have too much else to say for this post, so I’ll just get out of the way and let you look at some images if you are so inclined.

 

 

3 Comments

  1. Love that you went wide while shooting. Personally I feel like street photography is best with wide angle lenses, it tells more of the story.

    Reply

    1. I used a 35mm lens. That’s my favorite focal length for the street. 28mm feels too wide for me, and 50mm is doable but any longer than that is too tight IMO. Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

