Classic Road Trip

Sightseeing – Mt. Rushmore National Memorial, SD

This is the final post about the road trip I took out west this summer. I spent almost two weeks with my family seeing the sites across the western United States, driving across vast expanses of terrain and covering thousands of miles in the process.

I have written two previous posts on this trip. The first was with shots taken on my iPhone, the second was with shots taken by my Hasselblad 501CM. Since I have done two previous posts on this topic, I’m going to keep things pretty short and to the point and let the images largely speak for themselves.

All the images in this post were taken with my Leica M6 rangefinder on 35mm film.

Open Road – Badlands National Park, SD

Pathfinder – Yellowstone National Park, WY

Mammoth Landscape – Yellowstone National Park, WY

As I have mentioned before, this trip necessitated a real change in style for me. With no people around, my usual style of capturing images was hard to apply. Then again, maybe it wasn’t. I found times where I slipped into my comfort zone with crowds of people around (as in the image at the top of the page), but for the most part this was for landscapes and nature photography. Neither of these sub-disciplines of photography is particularly interesting to me, nor am I particularly good at them.

But, I suppose you work with what you’ve got at your disposal. The alternative–not to make photographs at all–is, at this stage in my life, unfathomable.

Clouds – Badlands National Park, SD

Ride – Grand Teton National Park, WY

Portrait – Yellowstone National Park, WY

Two Scoops – Yellowstone National Park, WY

One Comment

Leave a Reply

